Faculty and Staff

Achievements and insights

Many of our school’s faculty members were honoured this year for their academic, professional and research achievements:

Telfer School Dean François Julien

Telfer School Dean François Julien was named the Radio-Canada/Le Droit “personality of the week” upon his nomination as Dean of the Telfer School of Management.

Dr. Barbara Orser

Dr. Barbara Orser—the Telfer School’s co-holder of the Deloitte Professorship in the Management of Growth Enterprises—was designated one of Canada's 100 Most Powerful Women at the Women’s Executive Network’s annual gala. Dr. Orser was also the recipient of the International Alliance for Women’s World of Difference 100 Awards, which honours those who have helped empower women economically.

Dr. Daniel Zéghal

Dr. Daniel Zéghal won the Outstanding Paper Award at the Emerald Literati Network Awards for Excellence 2011. His scholarly article—published in the Journal of Intellectual Capital—uncovered new insights into how value added plays a role as an indicator of intellectual capital, and its impact on firms’ economic, financial and stock market performance.

Dr. Allan Riding

Dr. Allan Riding—the Telfer School’s co-holder of the Deloitte Professorship in the Management of Growth Enterprises—received the University of Ottawa’s Excellence in Education award, which recognizes professors who balance outstanding teaching with extensive research programs.

Dr. David Doloreux

Dr. David Doloreux received the 2010-2011 Prix de la Francophonie pour jeunes chercheurs, option social sciences and humanities, from the Scientific Council of the Agence Universitaire de la Francophonie (AUF). Dr Doloreux was also asked to become part of AUF’s panel of experts, and earned a five-year extension as Telfer School Research Chair in Canadian Francophonie.

Penny Collenette

Penny Collenette—Former Telfer School Executive in Residence—was inducted into the University of Ottawa’s Common Law Honour Society.

Dr. Wojtek Michalowski

Dr. Wojtek Michalowski was nominated as the Telfer School’s representative for the University of Ottawa Award for Excellence in Research.

Dr. Mike Mulvey

Dr. Mike Mulvey was nominated as the Telfer School’s representative for the University of Ottawa Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Françoise Moreau-Johnson

Françoise Moreau-Johnson, coordinator of the Telfer School’s Centre for Academic Leadership, was recognized for her outstanding work. She received the University of Ottawa Award of Excellence for Staff.

Penetrating insights

Throughout the year, Telfer School faculty members were called on repeatedly by media outlets throughout the country to share their penetrating insights on a range of pressing questions related to business and public policy. Notable examples include:

Dr. Michael Mulvey

Dr. Michael Mulvey helped viewers of CTV News fully understand the Christmas 2010 marketing campaign of Tim Hortons. And for readers of Canadian Business magazine, he shed light on the new web-based advertising campaign of NICORETTE nicotine-replacement products.

Dr. Silvia Bonaccio

Dr. Silvia Bonaccio enabled listeners of CBC Radio to gain a deeper appreciation of the relationship between advice and decision-making.

Professor Doug Angus

Professor Doug Angus was a featured participant on a live Web chat, sponsored by The Globe and Mail, on the future of Canadian healthcare.

And the Telfy goes to...

Our school has created many awards to acknowledge and encourage excellence among our students. Yet we’re big believers in recognizing the individual and group accomplishments of Telfer School managers and faculty members too.

That’s why we launched a new event to celebrate outstanding achievements by these people. Affectionately known as the Telfys, the Telfer School Staff and Faculty Awards of Excellence is sure to be one of the most anticipated events each year.

This year, Telfys were awarded to faculty members Silvia Bonaccio, Leila Hamzaoui Essoussi and Barbara Orser, and to staff members Linda Bellemare, Marielle Brabant, Danielle Charrette, Réjeanne Landry and Lynne Sauvé.