Skip to content

Telfer School of Management History

1969: Faculty of Management Science is founded ; Joseph Debanné is the first dean of the School.
1970: Department of Operational Research and Planning is added to the School.
1977: School adopts the name Faculty of Administration.
1980: Enrolment grows to more than 3,000 students ; Gilles Paquet is named Dean of the School.
1984: Creation of undergraduate co-operative programs and new graduate courses.
1984: School moved to the Vanier Hall Building.
1988: David Zussman is appointed Dean of the School ; Advisory Board is established.
1992: Executive MBA program and the International MBA program are launched.
1992: Jean-Louis Malouin is appointed Dean of the School.
1994:  the School launches an Executive MBA in Hong Kong.
2000: Micheál J. Kelly is appointed Dean.
2002: The School is renamed School of Management
2003: School of Management receives AACSB accreditation.
2005: School of Management receives AMBA accreditation.
2007: School is renamed Telfer School of Management in recognition of alumnus Ian Telfer’s $25 million donation.
2007: Telfer School moved into its new home, the Desmarais Building.
2009: Telfer School of Management receives EQUIS accreditation.
2011: François Julien is appointed Dean.