Skip to content

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

MHA Program

Does the MHA Program require a lot of work?

The MHA program does require a lot of work. This is especially true during the first 4 months, as you re-adapt yourself to the academic lifestyle. Expect to spend 18-20 hours per week for a part-time students and approximately 50-60 hours per week for full time students including class time, group work and homework.

Do you have a lot of case studies compared to lectures?

You will have a mix of the case-study approach and the lecture approach in your courses, depending on the professor and the course. Some teachers like to use cases for each lecture, while others use case work simply for assignment and evaluation purposes. Most of the faculty uses some aspect of the case-study approach within their respective courses.

Is it possible to work during the MHA program?

It is strongly discouraged. The heavy workload and the adjustment period required within the first semester make it difficult to work more than 10 hours per week. However, there are a few students that manage work while studying each year. After the first semester (blocks 1 and 2), some students take on part-time employment. In addition, many students pursue work as Teaching Assistants. These jobs are available to graduate students and tend to pay well, and also serve to get you in closer touch with other students on the campus.

Admission

When will I find out if I am admitted?

Files are evaluated once they are complete (including GMAT scores). Please allow 4 to 6 weeks for final decision.

Do I need a management or a health background to apply to the MHA program?

No, you don’t need a management or a health background to apply to the MHA program. The cohort environment allows students to work and learn together, benefiting from each other’s strengths, capabilities and experience. They work in carefully created groups composed of students with different academic, cultural and professional profiles that allow you to develop your leadership abilities and gain the tools you will need in your career management field.

Should I apply if I don’t have the minimum 3 years of full-time work experience?

If you do not have the minimum three years of full-time work experience you should wait to apply. Nonetheless, the admission process is based on the competitive setting, since each admission file is evaluated on an individual basis. Here are some facts that might help you assess whether or not you should apply:
  • 60 applications are received each year on average;
  • approximately 25 places are available for all students, including full-time, part-time, French and English programs;
  • the minimum requirement regarding work experience is 3 years, but the average is 6 years full-time for those entering the program. Emphasis is placed on career progression or potential for career progression in management. Demonstration of leadership, management and supervision skills is important; and,
  • Last year’s average score was 611 and the range 550-780.

Do coop terms, internships or full time summer work count towards the two years of work experience?

Coop placements and work internships completed to meet the requirements of a post secondary academic program will be viewed favorably at the time of admission, but do not constitute a replacement for the full-time work experience requirement. Unfortunately, full-time summer work does not count toward the minimum of three years of full-time work. The work experience needs to be post-degree. However it is important to mention any work experience that you may have.

Is the GMAT necessary?

Yes! You must take the GMAT. While the minimum criteria is a 50th percentile score (approximately the 45th percentile in each categories), competitive scores are above the 70th percentile (above 600).

To learn more about the GMAT visit www.mba.com or contact the GMAT Customer Service:

Americas
E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Telephone (toll-free) : 1-800-717-GMAT (4628)
Ottawa region: 613-230-2902

To prepare for the GMAT:

Kaplan (Test Prep and Admissions)
www.kaplan.com

Veritas Prep GMAT
http://www.veritasprep.com/gmat/Ottawa/

Knewton – online GMAT prep courses
http://www.knewton.com/GMAT/Ottawa

Richardson Prep Center
http://www.prep.com/

What is the institution code for sending GMAT and TOEFL scores?

The institution codes are:

  • GMAT: 4BZ-76-78 (MHA Program)
  • TOEFL: 0993

If I have been working or studying in Canada or the U.S.A do I need proof of proficiency in English?

You may be exempted from taking a proficiency test if you can provide proof of recent prolonged residence and exercise of a profession in an English speaking country (normally at least four years over the last six years) or proof of completion of a previous degree program in an English language university (within the last five years).

Do you accept other language proficiency tests other than the TOEFL?

Candidates applying to the MHA program must submit one of the following to the Telfer School of Management Graduate Office to confirm their English proficiency (the test scores cannot be more than two years old as of September 1 of the year of potential entry into the MHA program):

  • Proof of completion within the last five years, of a previous degree program in an English language university
  • Proof of recent prolonged residence and exercise of a profession in an English speaking country (normally at least four years over the last six years)
  • A score of at least 250 (100 Internet-based) on the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL), with a score of at least 5 on the Test of Written English (TWE) and a score of at least 50 on the Test of Spoken English (TSE). The TOEFL is administered by Educational Testing Service, Box 899, Princeton, New Jersey, USA, 08540; see also www.toefl.org
  • A score of at least 7 in at least three of the four International English Language Testing System (IELTS) tests (Reading, Listening, Writing, Speaking) and at least 6 in the fourth. The IELTS is administered by the British Council: www.ielts.org
  • A score of at least 14 on the CANTEST, administered by the University of Ottawa, with no individual test score below 4.0, along with a score of 4.5 on the oral component of the test.

Can I be admitted as a mature student?

Occasionally, mature applicants are admitted without having completed an undergraduate degree. Those admitted usually have at least 10 years of work experience in a senior management position, a superior GMAT score, and very strong letters of recommendation. Furthermore, many already have professional designations. Each case is considered on an individual basis.

I completed a Bachelor of Commerce; can I transfer some credits to the MHA?

No advanced standing is granted for undergraduate courses or work experience. At the time of admission, students may be granted exemptions or advanced standing for graduate courses in management previously completed as a regular student in a Canadian MHA program or similar program accredited by the American Association of Colleges and Schools of Business (AACSB) or equivalent.

Exemptions and advanced standing may also be granted for graduate courses previously completed in a University of Ottawa interdisciplinary program in which the Telfer School of Management is involved.

The maximum number of credits that can be granted as exemption or advanced standing is 24, and all students must complete a minimum of 30 credits of MBA courses following admission to be granted the degree. No exemption or advanced standing will be granted for courses completed more than five years ago or for which the grade was lower than B (70 percent). Advanced standing is granted only for 5000-level MBA courses.

Student Association

Is there a MBA and MHA student association?

Yes! Many students join the MHA Student’s Association (MHASA) in order to be more involved in shaping the program and to gain practical management skills. The association organizes events and activities for the MHA student body.

Another important advantage to joining the MHASA is for the social involvement. Business is based on relationships; therefore, it is very important to interact and network on a social level. The MHASA holds at least one social event every month. Becoming involved in events and activities is the best way to build your business network. This enables you to create linkages that will stay with you for the rest of your life. It is these bonds that will serve as your network in the future.

When does the MHA Student Association hold elections?

The MHASA will likely hold an election in September. This will give all new students a chance to get settled and accustomed to the program. Joining the MHASA is something that every student should consider. It is an excellent way to build your experience as a manager, and it looks great on a C.V. There are many positions available in the MHASA, so there is an opportunity to get involved at varying degrees depending on your availability and interests.

Are students in contact with the MHA Alumni Associations during the program?

Yes, students have a representative from the MHA Student Association that attends all Alumni Association meetings. The MHASA tries to get involved with the Alumni events in order to capitalize on some of the Alumni’s standing in the business world and their expertise.

www.telfer.uOttawa.ca/mhaaa

Living in Ottawa

Is the campus urban or rural?

The campus is located in the heart of the city of Ottawa, Canada's capital. We have the luxury of being right downtown, so that everything is within walking distance. Telfer School is 5 minutes from the Byward Market and across the street from the Rideau canal. The Byward Market is an area in Ottawa where you have museums, art galleries, restaurants, pubs, clubs, shopping, etc… Also, the University is about 15 minutes away from the National Art Gallery, the Museum of Civilization, the Gatineau Hills, and Parliament Hill.

What information can you provide me about housing?

There are several options regarding housing depending on your needs. You may stay on campus or off campus. To learn more about housing visit www.residence.uottawa.ca/en/ or contact:

Housing Services (residence)

University of Ottawa
100 Thomas More St,
Room 308,
P. O. Box 450, Station A,
Ottawa, Ontario
K1N 6N5
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Tel: (613) 562-5885
Fax: (613) 562-5109

Business Hours:

Monday to Friday
9:00 to 12:00, and 13:00 to 17:00

Off Campus Housing Office

90 University Private
Room 145
Ottawa, Ontario
K1N 1H3
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Tel: (613) 564-5400 ext.5061
Fax: (613) 782-6100

Maps

Useful Links


Close

Passer au contenu principal

FAQ

FAQ

Le programme de MGSS exige t il beaucoup de travail?

Oui, surtout dans les quatre premiers mois, où vous devez vous réadapter à la vie universitaire. Attendez vous à consacrer à vos études (cours, travaux en équipe et travail à la maison) de 18 à 20 heures par semaine si vous étudiez à temps partiel et de 50 à 60 heures par semaine environ si vous étudiez à temps plein.

Avez-vous beaucoup d’études de cas en comparaison des cours magistraux?

La formule varie selon le professeur et le cours. Certains enseignants aiment utiliser l’étude de cas à chaque cours, d’autres y recourent seulement pour les devoirs ou les évaluations. La plupart des membres du corps professoral se servent de certains aspects de l’approche par étude de cas dans leur cours.

Est-il possible de travailler durant le programme de MBA ?

C’est fortement déconseillé. La lourde charge de travail et la période d’adaptation requise durant le premier semestre rendent difficile de travailler plus de 10 heures par semaine. Toutefois, quelques étudiants réussissent à le faire chaque année. Après le premier semestre (blocs 1 et 2), quelques uns dénichent un emploi à temps partiel. Beaucoup travaillent comme assistant à l’enseignement ou à la recherche. Ces emplois, offerts aux étudiants de 2e et de 3e cycle, sont généralement bien payés et vous permettent de vous rapprocher des autres étudiants sur le campus.

Quand saurai je si je suis admis?

Les dossiers sont évalués dès qu’ils sont complets (résultats au GMAT compris). Veuillez prévoir de quatre à six semaines pour l’obtention de la décision finale.

Dois je avoir de l’expérience dans le domaine de la gestion ou de la santé pour demander mon admission au programme de MGSS?

Non. Le contexte est tel qu’il permet aux étudiants de travailler ensemble, d’apprendre les uns des autres et de profiter des forces, des compétences et de l’expérience de chacun. Les groupes sont soigneusement formés de manière à comprendre des étudiants dont les profils universitaires, culturels et professionnels sont différents, ce qui permet à chacun d’améliorer ses compétences en leadership et d’acquérir les outils qu’il lui faudra dans son domaine de gestion.

Devrais-je présenter une demande si je n’ai pas trois années d’expérience de travail à plein temps?

Si vous ne comptez pas au moins trois ans d’expérience de travail à plein temps, vous devriez attendre. Néanmoins, le processus d’admission étant compétitif, chaque dossier est évalué de façon individuelle. Voici certaines données qui devraient vous aider à évaluer si vous devriez présenter une demande ou non :

  • nous recevons en moyenne 60 demandes par année;
  • nous admettons environ 25 étudiants, à temps plein et à temps partiel confondus;
  • le minimum d’années d’expérience de travail requis est de trois ans, mais la moyenne de travail à plein temps des étudiants admis au programme est de six ans. Nous mettons l’accent sur la progression professionnelle ou le potentiel de progression professionnelle en gestion. Il est important de faire preuve d’un certain leadership et de manifester des aptitudes à la gestion et à la supervision;
  • L’an dernier, la moyenne était de 611 et l’écart entre 550 et 780.

Les stages en milieu de travail (programme coop ou autre) ou le travail d’été à temps plein peuvent ils faire partie des deux ans d’expérience de travail requis?

Les stages dans le cadre d’un programme coopératif et en milieu de travail effectués pour satisfaire aux exigences d’un programme scolaire postsecondaire constituent des atouts pour les candidats mais ne sont pas considérés comme de l’expérience de travail à temps complet. Malheureusement, le travail d’été à temps plein ne compte pas non plus pour les deux ans d’expérience requis, celle ci devant avoir été acquise après l’obtention du baccalauréat. Il est toutefois important de mentionner tout expérience de travail que vous jugez pertinente.

Le GMAT est il obligatoire?

Oui, ce test est obligatoire. Le critère minimal de sélection est un résultat supérieur au 50e centile (près du 45e centile dans chaque catégorie), mais les résultats compétitifs au GMAT, par exemple, sont supérieurs au 70e centile (au delà de 600).

Pour en savoir plus, vous pouvez consulter le www.mba.com ou communiquer avec le service à la clientèle du GMAT :

Amériques :
Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.
1-800-717-GMAT (4628)
Région d’Ottawa : 613-230-2902

Pour se préparer pour le GMAT:

Kaplan (Test Prep and Admissions)
www.kaplan.com

Veritas Prep GMAT
http://www.veritasprep.com/gmat/Ottawa/

Knewton – online GMAT prep courses
http://www.knewton.com/GMAT/Ottawa

Richardson Prep Center
http://www.prep.com/

Quel est le code de votre institution pour le GMAT et le TOEFL?

Les codes de notre établissement sont :

4BZ-76-78 pour le programme MGSS
Pour le TOEFL le code de notre institution est 0993

Si j’ai travaillé ou étudié au Canada ou aux États-Unis ai-je besoin de soumettre une attestation prouvant ma compétence linguistique en français ou en anglais le cas échéant ?

Vous pouvez obtenir une exemption pour le test de compétence linguistique si vous pouvez faire la preuve que vous avez récemment effectué un séjour prolongé et exercé une profession dans un pays francophone (ou anglophone pour le programme anglais) (normalement pendant une période d’au moins quatre ans au cours des six dernières années) ou que vous avez suivi (au cours des cinq dernières années) un programme menant à un diplôme dans une université de langue française (ou de langue anglaise pour le programme anglais).

Acceptez-vous des tests ou preuves de compétence linguistique autres que le TOEFL?

Les candidats qui font une demande d’admission au programme de MGSS doivent soumettre un des documents suivants au Bureau des études supérieures de l’École de gestion Telfer pour confirmer leur compétence linguistique en anglais (les épreuves pour lesquelles des résultats sont fournis ne doivent pas avoir été passées plus de deux ans avant le 1er septembre de l’année de l’admission potentielle au programme de MBA) :

  • une preuve que vous avez suivi, au cours des cinq dernières années, un programme menant à un diplôme d’une université de langue anglaise;
  • une attestation d’un séjour prolongé récent et de l’exercice d’une profession dans un pays anglophone (normalement pendant au moins quatre ans au cours des six dernières années);
  • une note d’au moins 250 (100 sur Internet) au « Test of English as a Foreign Language » (TOEFL), avec une note d’au moins 5 au « Test of Written English » (TWE) et une note d’au moins 50 au « Test of Spoken English » (TSE). Le TOEFL est administré par l’Educational Testing Service, Box 899, Princeton, New Jersey, États-Unis, 08540; consultez le site Web www.toefl.org;
  • une note d’au moins 7 à au moins trois des quatre épreuves de l’« International English Language Testing System » (IELTS) (lecture, écoute, rédaction, expression orale) et d’au moins 6 aux quatre épreuves. L’IELTS est administré par le British Council :www.ielts.org;
  • une note d’au moins 14 au CANTEST, administré par l’Université d’Ottawa :http://www.olbi.uottawa.ca/en/cantest.php. Le candidat ne doit avoir obtenu aucune note inférieure à 4 aux différentes épreuves et doit avoir obtenu une note d’au moins 4,5 à la partie orale du test.

Puis-je être admis comme étudiant adulte?

À l’occasion, des candidats adultes sont admis sans posséder de diplôme universitaire. Ils comptent d’ordinaire au moins dix ans d’expérience professionnelle dans un poste de haute direction, ont habituellement un excellent résultat au GMAT et présentent de très bonnes lettres de recommandation. En outre, plusieurs ont déjà un titre professionnel. Chaque cas est considéré individuellement. À noter que les relevés de notes d’études universitaires doivent tout de même être soumis.

J’ai un baccalauréat en commerce; puis je appliquer certains crédits au MGSS?

Aucune équivalence n’est accordée pour les cours de premier cycle ou l’expérience professionnelle. Au moment de l’admission, il se peut que soient accordées des exemptions ou des équivalences pour des cours de 2e cycle en gestion suivis à titre d’étudiant régulier dans un programme de MGSS canadien ou un programme semblable reconnu par l’American Association of Colleges and Schools of Business (AACSB) ou un organisme équivalent.

Des exemptions et des équivalences peuvent également être accordées pour des cours de 2e cycle dans un programme interdisciplinaire de l’Université d’Ottawa auquel participe l’École de gestion Telfer.

Le nombre maximal de crédits pouvant être accordés à ce titre est de 24, tous les étudiants devant obligatoirement obtenir un minimum de 30 crédits en cours de MBA après leur admission pour recevoir leur diplôme. Aucune exemption ou équivalence ne sera accordée pour des cours suivis il y a plus de cinq ans ou pour lesquels la note obtenue était inférieure à B (70 %). L’équivalence n’est accordée que pour les cours de MBA de niveau 5000.

Existe-il une association étudiante pour la MGSS ?

Oui, il existe une association étudiante pour la MGSS (AEMGSS). De nombreux étudiants y adhèrent pour participer davantage à la structuration du programme et acquérir des habiletés pratiques en gestion. L’Association organise des activités pour les étudiants de la MGSS.

L’engagement social constitue un aspect important de l’adhésion à l’Association étudiante. Étant donné que le monde des affaires repose sur les relations, il est important d’avoir des interactions et de faire du réseautage sur le plan social. L’Association organisant au moins une activité sociale par mois, votre implication à cette occasion est le meilleur moyen de construire VOTRE réseau d’affaires. Elle vous permet en effet de créer des liens qui dureront le reste de votre vie et qui vous serviront de réseau plus tard.

Quand est-ce que l’Association étudiante tient ses élections?

L’Association étudiante tient normalement ses élections en septembre, ce qui laisse le temps aux nouveaux étudiants de se familiariser et de s’adapter au programme. Chaque étudiant devrait songer à faire partie du conseil d’administration de l'AEMGSS. C’est un excellent moyen d’acquérir de l’expérience en tant que gestionnaire et d’apprendre à gérer son temps, et cela fait bien dans un curriculum vitae. Il existe de nombreux postes au sein de l’Association, il est donc possible de s’impliquer à différents degrés, selon vos intérêts et votre disponibilité.

Vos étudiants sont ils en contact avec l’Association des anciens de la MGSS (AAMGSS) au cours du programme?

Oui, un représentant de l’Association étudiante assiste à toutes les réunions de l’Association des anciens. L’AEMGSS essaie de prendre part aux activités de l’AEMGSS afin de tirer profit de l’expertise des anciens et de la situation de certains d’entre eux dans le monde des affaires.

Pour en apprendre davantage sur l’Association des anciens de la MGSS, rendez vous au www.telfer.uOttawa.ca/mhaaa

Est-ce que le campus est situé en région urbaine ou rurale?

Le campus est situé au coeur de la ville d’Ottawa, capitale du Canada. Nous avons la chance de nous trouver en plein centre ville, de sorte que nous sommes à distance de marche d’à peu près tout. L’École Telfer est à cinq minutes du Marché By et tout près du canal Rideau. Le Marché By est un endroit où l’on trouve musées, galeries d’art, restaurants, pubs, boîtes de nuit, boutiques, et bien plus encore.

L’Université est également à une quinzaine de minutes du Musée des beaux arts, du Musée des civilisations, de la Colline du Parlement et du parc de la Gatineau.

Est-ce que vous pouvez me fournir de l’information concernant l’hébergement ?

Il existe à cet égard différentes possibilités selon vos besoins. Vous pouvez loger en résidence ou hors campus. Pour en apprendre davantage, visitez le www.residence.uottawa.ca/fr/ ou communiquez avec l’un des services suivants :

Service de logement (résidence)
Université d'Ottawa
100, rue Thomas-More, pièce 308
C.P. 450, succursale A
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1N 6N5
Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.
Tél. : 613‑562‑5885
Téléc. : 613‑562‑5109
 
Bureau du logement hors campus
90, rue Université, pièce 145
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1H 1H3
Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.
Tél. : 613‑564‑5400, poste 5061
Téléc.: 613‑782‑6100
 
Heures de bureau :
Du lundi au vendredi, de 9 h à midi et de 13 h à 17 h
 
Cartes
 
Liens utiles

Fermer